#4 Tim Curry

There are two Tim Curry movies that I wanted to include so I decided to combine them into one day. Why? Because he plays two incredibly different characters and couldn’t be more perfect in either role.

First, Clue. I love Clue. The movie, the board game, whatever. The movie is ridiculous and hilarious, but occasionally eerie (okay, okay. Only during the phone call the cop makes). But funny, definitely funny. How can it not be with Madeline Kahn in it? She delivers maybe the best line in the movie (“flames, flames on the side of my face…”). But Curry, oh Curry, as the butler, running around (getting everyone to run with him) is my favorite. Plus the multiple endings? So good.

I fell in love with Rocky Horror when I was in college. I’ve never gone to see it at a theater, but some day. It might be the complete opposite of Clue. And how does he walk in those heels?

My roommate and I assigned our friends to different characters (without actually telling them, just in our minds). We went to see a local band cover the songs. We played the soundtrack in the car. We’d do the weird double-high-five-thing that Riff Raff and Magenta would do. She named her cats Columbia and Magenta.

The movie is crazy, but it’s so good. The cast is fantastic and the plot is strange, but you should watch if not just for the fantastic Dr. Frank-N-Furter. Oh, and the old guy doing the Time Warp in his office. Oh, and Meatloaf! And there’s nudity, if none of the other reasons work for you (although it’s sort of odd). I love the little things, though. Like Columbia and Magenta beind weird during “Toucha-Toucha-Touch Me” (did she just shove the blow-dryer down Columbia’s shirt? what is going on?). Or at the beginning of “Planet, Schmanet, Janet” when Magenta and Riff Raff are laughing and Riff Raff suddenly yells “Shut up!” Cracks me up every time. I love Riff Raff.

Oh, and I was supposed to be Magenta. Nice.

Leave a Reply

