Hello Operator

Oh, White Stripes. I will miss you. I loved your music, but I’m not surprised you decided to call it quits.

But that’s not really what I want to talk about. What I want to talk about is the cement tube in this photo. Why did people think it okay to install these in playgrounds? I remember we had one when I was in 4th-6th grade. It was one of the few things we did have at the playground at this school besides a fitness trail (seriously). But why were kids playing on cement tubes? Not to say kids can’t handle that sort of thing or that we should protect them from everything and make sure toys are safe and plastic (another school I went to had a tire playground. Best. Playground. Ever.) But one of my best friends was shoved into a similar cement tube on accident and had to get stitches because she bit through her lower lip. It just still amazes me that this was a wide-spread thing. When I saw this photo posted on their website I noticed it in the background. Strange.

Leave a Reply

